Seeking You

Is my heart crying out in pain
or softly singing your name?

Are my fingers stiff and slick
with unwelcome cold and rain
or wetted by drops of your grace?

Is my intrusive loneliness
and craving for human comfort
demanding that I board
the busload of crowded bodies

or whispering a secret

I can find you deeply
deeply hidden
within the cave
of my own heart.

My face, reflected
in the mirror of time
insults me with the indelicacy of aging

Will I be able to outrun
the racing hours and days
to fall into your arms
before the flesh crumbles
and I am thrown onto the wheel
of revolving lifetimes?

~ Nalini Davison

Namaste. =)

Leave a Reply

