kuNDï

I attended a workshop at Yoga Public, the Science of Vinyasa this last weekend. Two days we sat around Jonathan Austman and marvelled at his heart-felt-encyclopaedic teachings on what Vinyasa is really all about.

Isn’t Vinyasa breath and movement together in a practice? Sounds easy enough. And for the last five years of practicing, this is what I did. This is what and how I taught. It’s strange when you hover around a flower and you get stung by the bee of wisdom… and ta-da! You don’t look at how Vinyasa flows; you can finally see.

Out of the many words Jonathan shared with us, Kundi, stung me magically. Kundi in Sanskrit, is a bowl, pertaining to our pelvis. How is it that only a few months ago, a dear friend shared with me his teaching tips on how to make the class understand “bring your tailbone down’ when it doesn’t really go down. He said, Imagine your pelvis as a bowl of water… and now I smile at how things simply turn around in an infinite cycle.

Feet together in Samasthiti.
Press your heels down. Press your big toes down. Lengthen the rest of the toes.
Lift your aches and feel the lengthening of your thigh bones up.
Find your Kundi as your tailbone reaches towards your heels, lifting the pubic bone up to your lower belly.
Feel the lengthening of the spine.
Lengthen the pinky finger, the index finger, and the root of the thumb pushing up towards your biceps.
Your belly is engaged but soft… Sthira sukham asanam.
Breathe in from the back of your ribs towards the front, to the back of your shoulders towards the collarbones.
Breathe out straight down at the centre all the way to your pelvis.
Feel the difference in your breath as it reaches your Kundi.

{I giggled as Jonathan explained how this form of breathing is akin to orgasm. I then blurted out as I look down to my pelvis – “Is that why I’m giggling”? – Everyone burst out laughing!}

Keeping this integrity in your salutations, in your asanas.
Standing, sitting, laying down.
These simple things we go back to over and over again.
Infinitely.
That is Vinyasa.

Never had I encountered one salutation where beads of sweat where turning into pools on my mat by keeping all these simple things in tact. But it felt great. It felt different. It is a new level of Vinyasa I have not experienced before. And as we continued with more salutations, it becomes a part of you. I, myself is Vinyasa, a continuing cycle of the ever-changing me, yet keeping the true self in tact.

See how yoga can manifest life? Keeping my Kundi balanced during salutations is hard work; so is balancing life. But we move on and continue. Practice. Live life. Practice. Live life. The kundi may tilt during practice. So does living life.

“Do your practice and all is coming” ~ Sri K. Pattabhi Jois.
I do believe all means life.
Namaste. =)

6 thoughts on “kuNDï

    1. That’s why it is infinite, Rob… we go back to the simple things and keep doing it over and over again. Something happens because we are not over-thinking or complicating ourselves. The infinite cycle is life. Life is the infinite cycle.
      I’m not making anys sense, am I? Lol

      Like

  1. Practice and all is coming… Love this mantra!
    And isn’t it amazing how these tiny details can have such a profound effect? They make EVERYTHING feel so different! It sounds like a great workshop you attended. I do vinyasa regularly and it’s too easy to lose track of these tiny details — I’ll be aware of the flow linking breath with movement, but then forget the life force that fuels it all…
    I’m going to pay more mind to my Kundi in my next practice. x x

    Like

    1. Ever since my friend told me about thinking of our pelvis as a bowl of water, I’ve been using it in teaching. Too often you see most hyper-extend their butt out, say warrior 2 pose. I remind them of their bowl, their kundi… and we are not posing for playboy 😉 – this gets a lot of laughs every friggin time! xo

      Like

Leave a Reply

