Will You?

Will you be with me until my hair loses its dusk
Wrinkles in my forehead beneath my grey bangs
Creases on the corners of my eyes
As I smile reaching my shaky arms up to the sky?

Will you be with me until my toes curl
Not because I want them to
But because of stiffness quivering in my stance
Where my joints seem to have a mind of their own?

Will you be with me as time shows in my bony shoulders
Pressing behind my spine as I look up in grace
My heart open, forever grateful, forever yours
Warmth spreading beneath my chilly bones?

Will you be with me when my hips lose their fullness
Carrying the load of years gone and passed
Where I fail to bend to reach the ground
Where I fail to rise up without the creaks and the grunts?

Will you be with me still when this time happens
When I need you more than ever
You have long been a companion, a guide, a mentor
Showing me where I am in every moment that comes?

Will you be around still when I can no longer remember
Shrinking and shrivelling in my prune-like skin
That what matters is where I am at
And not what I wish it to be?

Will you?

image-4Maybe it’s not about the happy ending. Maybe it’s about the story.

*****
Join us in supporting Power of Movement for the Arthritis Research Foundation on March 8, 2015 at Fort Garry Hotel. I belong with Yoga Public Team for Winnipeg. Click on the link for Power of Movement and come visit our team’s page.

Namaste. =)

3 thoughts on “Will You?

  1. Very powerful, Maia. I can relate to this in a personal level from experiences during my second battle with cancer. The significance of “I do” is not always thought out very well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

