Solitaire

IMG_9780

Reconciling with an old friend is a sweet thing. You are taken to the place where the budding relationship began. It gives you that warm, fuzzy feeling of a creative process you have experienced before.

I recently came back to my first love in my practice – Ashtanga. And true to those feelings, I am head over heels with it. I adore the flow of breath and movement dancing within my body becoming deeper and deeper on each pose, exposing an expression of loving myself more. The commitment I invest – traveling for an hour to get there and another to head back home, the lesser hours of sleep just so I can make it to class, teaching two classes one after another then zoom to have my practice in the city, and still coming back again the next day…

A knock reached my door during this rendezvous with my old flame. In fact, the newcomer has always been around, stalking. I see it before the Ashtanga classes. I’ve watched it during my training. And I feel I have been mesmerized by this presence from day one. But as many of us react to such an inspiring appearance, feeling small in the existence of this embodiment, I felt then I was not good enough to be with this company.

Yet paths unfold when the time is ripe. There were simply too many reasons and flashing signs to keep ignoring the persistent knocking. The door to my heart opened up to this newcomer in my life. Through Ashtanga, I met Mysore.

9c680889a1e3e419a3f2a8104a190dfe

As much as I was enthralled with Mysore, the excitement of fluttering butterflies in my belly that first day, subsided rather quickly when I was only allowed to practice for about 30 minutes. Really?!! Like I can so do much more!

But no, my instructor said. Only the beginning and ending series and we’ll add poses in the middle when you are ready.

I can not even describe how I felt then. Somehow through the gentle voice of my instructors explaining to me the process, a memory settled in me. As the Upanishads have a guru bestowing the gifts of wisdom to the students, so is Mysore. Each pose is a gift meant to achieve the perfection best suited for me at a particular time. My patience is jarred, and I laughed at myself. Why am I in a hurry to reach my headstand when the journey to Mysore is more rewarding and liberating? This totally sent the butterflies simmer in my belly, all happy with the abundance of the garden yet to be explored! But all in due time.

Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle.”
~ Abraham Lincoln
People conceive patience as waiting. It is not all that. We exercise patience when the very thing we want most is not only within our reach, but we can actually touch it, that we are actually there with it. It means we work towards being in the same time and place. Think of seeds we plant. We already have the seeds; the waiting comes for the plant to grow and its blossoms to bloom. This is where we sit and transform; this is where we sit with patience.

Trust the process.

Mysore. One’s own movement, precious as a gem, in rhythm with the songbirds of the breath. It’s solitaire.
Namaste. =)

 

6 thoughts on “Solitaire

  1. I used to practice Mysore. It was at 7am, and I just loved being up early and practicing at my own pace but within a group energy. And what a great perspective you have on patience…it’s the means to transformation. I will take that one with me as I tend to get very impatient throughout the day. Namaste 🙂

    Like

    1. That’s the key right there! Individuality yet within a group. I love it! And in all honesty, I feed off energy from people lol – shhh!

      And don’t worry… it took Mysore to let me learn what patience is. All the other times?? Pfft… more like reliving the yesterdays and daydreaming of tomorrows… isn’t yoga simply ruining what we have believed in before? Incredible, huh? xo

      Like

    1. My sweet friend… I apologize for not responding sooner…
      I am grateful you feel it, too. Mysore truly captivated me from the very beginning. Thank you, sweets. xo

      Like

Leave a Reply

