Driftwood

go with the flow“Life is a series of natural and spontaneous changes. Don’t resist them – that only creates sorrow. Let reality be reality. Let things flow naturally forward in whatever way they like.” ~ Lao-Tzu

The ripples of the waters is as soothing as watching the horizon fade into the setting sun. A driftwood floating with the swaying soft waves. Its buoyancy does not alter its course. It does not float about aimlessly. It has its purpose – to reach the shore.

I am that driftwood that rides along the ebbs of the tide, whether nearing or going farther away from the shore. I go with the flow.

I am that driftwood that remains a fragment of a bigger me, where shattered dreams slow me down to allow myself find another way to dance with the moving wind. I go with the flow.

It is equanimity… where I have done all that I can do at the moment… and let the rest flow where it may. Parts of me may continue drifting away; other parts may choose to stay sunken for they have served their purpose. And some may find my other driftwood pieces and continue rolling with the waves… a force of nature to come together… and be stronger to catch the next wave.

driftwoodTrue to that one day, the driftwood will finally reach land, where I may turn to pieces even more, crumbling with the rays of the heat; but will nurture the land it settles in, providing more character and expressions to an otherwise pure whiteness of the coast.

Each driftwood of me is a firm design with the function and intention of creating more value. Shattered and scattered I may be, but I go with the flow for a chance to become a better me.

Namaste.

2 thoughts on “Driftwood

  1. I’d like to share a passage from Swiss psychologist, Carl Gustav Jung, in which he shares and describes our human journey:

    ” … You start your life standing on the shore looking out over the sea. The tide is ‘in’ and there is no beach to be seen. Yet inevitably, and over Time, the ocean begins to retreat and a rocky, sandy beach is exposed. At the appropriate moment you venture onto the sand where an increasing number of sea-water pools and rocky inlets of varying sizes and physical characteristics, are ‘home’ for a great variety of creatures large and small. Each pool is a new ‘happening; every sea-shell, seaweed clump, piece of driftwood…. constitute events in their own right, excite curiosity, and occupy differing amounts of Time. And so it goes, all the way to the low-tide mark: a journey of discovery evoking feelings and thoughts concerning the ‘how’ and the ‘why’ of this new phenomenological world and the fact that you are there to participate in it.”

    *Thus passes the first ‘half’ of our life*

    ” … But now the tide begins to turn, and you must commence your retreat back to land – to the shore from where you set out. And on the return journey you ponder the memory of all you are leaving behind on the outward leg, all you have learned from following the lure of the sea. And when back on dry land you consolidate what the life of the sands and the pools have taught you, until you become complete and whole in your own brief ‘span of Being’.”

    *Thus passes the second ’half’ of our life*

    There’s a beautiful sunset this evening my friend, touching post – thank you so very much. 🙂

    Like

    1. I grew up hearing Jung – an uncle (from the military) who read his books a lot.

      This is an enriching passage you’ve shared… thank you. =) Before I managed to hit ‘publish’ while drafting, there was a scuffle within – – – one laughing at my driftwood analogical insight; and the other, whacking the one laughing…

      At least now I have Jung on one side. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

