The Naive Canvas

Like any work of art, it starts off with a blank canvas. Splashes of paint, sketches in charcoal, doodles in crayons, pasted juxtaposed collages, scribbled writings, notated chords and notes, improvised dance steps, adding strides to a run, modified and varied yoga sequences. And like any artist, frustrated in many ways, the work seems to never finish. The canvas seems to be full, yet it feels incomplete. Here begins another blank canvas to try another form of art that might work.

This is how it has been for me… in learning the art of letting go. And in the process of learning this art, I came across this piece. It does not belong to me; but I believe it holds true for anyone and it is meant to be shared with everyone.

LETTING GO TAKES LOVE

To let go does not mean to stop caring, it means I can’t do it for someone else.
To let go is not to cut myself off, it’s the realization I can’t control another.
To let go is not to enable, but allow learning from natural consequences.
To let go is to admit powerlessness, which means the outcome is not in my hands.
To let go is not to try to change or blame another, it’s to make the most of myself.
To let go is not to care for, but to care about.
To let go is not to fix, but to be supportive.
To let go is not to judge, but to allow another to be a human being.
To let go is not to be in the middle arranging all the outcomes, but to allow others to affect their destinies.
To let go is not to be protective, it’s to permit another to face reality.
To let go is not to deny, but to accept.
To let go is not to nag, scold or argue, but instead to search out my own shortcomings and correct them.
To let go is not to adjust everything to my desires, but to take each day as it comes and cherish myself in it.
To let go is not to criticize or regulate anybody, but to try to become what I dream I can be.
To let go is not to regret the past, but to grow now and live for the future.
To let go is to fear less and love more.

Remember: The time to love is short.
(author unknown)

killing me stronglyDays come and I pause to reflect on the people who have chanced upon my life and how easily they seem to let go of friendship that in more ways than one, have been significant for me. But with their actions and decisions, it shows we do not hold the same sense of its value, its worth. damn happy

And that saddens me. A lot. I never thought then that letting go means severing the ties of friendship. I’ve always believed that letting go allows us to take it to the next level of growth… to finally take the canvas in an art gallery where others can appreciate and admire… and learn.

first... me

I am thankful for the art though. As much as letting go is an art, there is likewise the art of loving. Of loving myself first and more. Perhaps, the most difficult art to master… where I fail quite miserably… as I stare at the numerous canvasses I have gathered.

Yet,
Here I am.
Again.
Holding a blank canvas,
With only naivety in my heart
To express once again
Another art.

Such are the thoughts of a naive yogini. And my naive canvas.
*****
Written somewhere before. Edited here today. Remembering for tomorrow.
Namaste.

3 thoughts on “The Naive Canvas

  1. beautiful post. why does letting go, prob the most freeing thing we can do for ourselves, feel sooo counterintuitive? if i let go, the universe will think i don’t care. if i let go, then i will be open and vulnerable, ie, i won’t be in control. but that control means gripping, attachment, fear…fear of losing. and things can’t flow when we hold on so tight. it takes practice and patience to cultivate these fine arts. glad to share this journey of love and letting go with you. namaste, aleya

    Like

    1. Wanna know a secret??
      I grip like a koala bear on a eucalyptus tree. I stick like gum under a shoe. I can be a good replacement for Krazy glue. Add that I’m crazy only verifies it more!

      It’s a work in progress. Learning at the point where “there is no other way”. xo

      Like

Leave a Reply

